Partners

FELIX SCHOELLER GROUP (Initiator)

THE MOST EXPERIENCED MANUFACTURER OF HIGH-QUALITY PHOTOGRAPHIC PAPERS
Founded in 1895 in Burg Gretesch, Osnabrück, Felix Schoeller is now in its sixth generation as a family company. The company is currently led by Hans-Christoph Gallenkamp, a member of the fifth generation of the family. Since its founding, Felix Schoeller has concentrated on the production of specialty papers. The first products were silver halide photographic papers for the emerging photographic segment. The customers for these papers were professional photographers and international concerns like Agfa Gevaert in Belgium. Further prominent customers were to follow: Kodak, Fuji, Polaroid, and many others. With the spread of photography into a broader spectrum of users, Felix Schoeller advanced to become the world’s largest manufacturer of photographic base papers – in time, almost every second photo printed was on papers made by the company in Osnabrück. Today, the Felix Schoeller Group leads the world in the production of high-tech specialty papers for premium digital printing. The core competence of Felix Schoeller is not reflected as strongly as here in any other product segment. This is why the Felix Schoeller Group made the decision to launch an international award for exceptional photography, that was first presented in 2013 and, since then, invites submissions from professional photographers every two years. For photographers, being nominated for the Felix Schoeller Photo Award means belonging to the creme de la creme of photography and standing as an inspiration to others. In the special category titled ‘Best work by an emerging photographer’, we give young and promising talents the chance to get their work published in the highest quality together with the work of photographers from around the globe, some of whom have already been honored with important awards and prizes.

www.felix-schoeller.com

British Journal of Photography

The multi-award winning British Journal of Photography is the world’s longest running photography publication, showcasing the work of the most important pioneers of the art form since 1854. Now, with a global print and digital audience of 1M+, the British Journal of Photography is recognised by professional photographers, photography lovers and collectors alike, as the leading source of inspiration and insight into the best cutting-edge contemporary photography.

www.bjp-online.com

PROFIFOTO

PROFIFOTO is Germany’s leading publication for professional photographers and budding professionals. Month on month PROFIFOTO publishes breaking news about all the latest photo technology and professional photography in its magazine of over 100 pages. Both its lavish portfolios of high-calibre photographic work and itsexploration of creative, professional, cultural and technical aspects of photography are a firm part of its editorial policy.

PROFIFOTO is one of the co-founders of adf, Arbeitskreis Digitale Fotografie e.V., and a member of the Technical Image Press Association, TIPA, which presents the highly sought after TIPA Award each year for the world’s best photography and imaging products.

www.profifoto.de

DGPh

The German Photographic Association (DGPh) is an organisation primarily committed to promoting the cultural aspects of photography and related visual media. Its 1000-strong membership consists of highly respected personalities on the German and international photography scene, who share the common goal of promoting photography’s standing among the general public. The association also has a communications role, working to publicise ground-breaking photographic achievements. To this end, DGPh has founded numerous prizes and awards to honour institutions and individuals in the world of photography for work that is outstanding in terms of its visual or journalistic quality, its contribution to science, or its impact on society.

www.dgph.de

BFF

Established in 1969, BFF – the German Association of Freelance Photographers – has been synonymous with top-quality professional photography in Germany for 45 years and ranks as one of the most highly respected photographers' associations in Europe. The association currently represents the interests of more than 500 exclusively freelance photographers, film makers, and college and university lecturers. According to the statutes “ ... the Association is responsible for representing and safeguarding the mutual interests of freelance photographers and filmmakers. The purpose of the Association is, in particular, to uphold and promote the working conditions and financial situations of its members.” The responsible people in the association have avidly pursued this goal over the last 45 years and have been highly successful in achieving it. This, along with the Association's photographic and artistic authority, is a key factor in BFF’s exceptional standing among professional photographic associations both in Germany and abroad. 

www.bff.de

City of Osnabrück

The award ceremony for the Felix Schoeller Photo Award will take place in the Museum Quarter of the City of Osnabrück. This will also be the venue for the exhibition of the work of the nominees and winners. This is an exceptional venue for an exceptional event!

The architecture of the museum ensemble - with the Felix Nussbaum Haus designed by Daniel Libeskind contrasting with the Neoclassical museum that dates back to 1890 – encapsulates the tension between avant-garde and tradition. The exhibition of the prizewinning work in the Felix Schoeller Photo Award in the museum’s historical Oberlichtsaal will reflect this tension: work of avant-garde photographers will be showcased in galleries steeped in 125 years of tradition.

www.osnabrueck.de

Partner

FELIX SCHOELLER GROUP (Initiator)

DER ERFAHRENSTE HERSTELLER HOCHWERTIGER FOTOPAPIERE
Felix Schoeller ist ein Familienunternehmen in der sechsten Generation, gegründet 1895 in Burg Gretesch bei Osnabrück. Mit Hans-Christoph Gallenkamp führt ein Familienmitglied aus der fünften Generation das Unternehmen. Von Beginn an hat sich das Unternehmen auf die Produktion von Spezialpapieren konzentriert. Erste Produkte waren Silbersalzfotopapiere für die aufkommende Fotografie-Technik. Abnehmer waren professionelle Fotografen sowie internationale Unternehmen wie Agfa Gevaert, Belgien. Weitere namhafte Abnehmer folgten: Kodak, Fuji, Polaroid u.v.m. Mit dem Anwachsen der Fotografie auf breiter Anwenderebene stieg Felix Schoeller zum weltgrößten Produzenten für Fotobasispapiere auf – nahezu jeder zweite Fotoabzug weltweit stammte zwischenzeitlich vom Osnabrücker Unternehmen. Heute ist die Felix Schoeller Group führend in der Fertigung von Hightech-Spezialpapieren für die hochwertige, digitale Foto-Reproduktion. Die Kernkompetenz Felix Schoellers spiegelt sich in keinem anderen Produktsegment so stark wider. Deshalb hat sich die Felix Schoeller Group entschlossen, einen internationalen Photo Award für professionelle Fotografie ins Leben zu rufen, der 2013 erstmals vergeben wurde und im Zweijahresrhythmus Jahre ausgerufen wird. Für den Felix Schoeller Photo Award nominiert zu werden bedeutet, zur absoluten Spitzenklasse zu gehören und andere Fotografen zu inspirieren. In der Sonderkategorie Nachwuchsförderpreis haben hoffnungsvolle Talente eine Chance, gemeinsam mit zum Teil bereits ausgezeichneten Fotografen aus aller Welt in hochwertigster Qualität publiziert zu werden.

www.felix-schoeller.com

British Journal of Photography

Das vielfach preisgekrönte British Journal of Photography ist die weltweit älteste Fotografie-Publikation: Es präsentiert die Arbeiten der wichtigsten Pioniere dieser Kunstform bereits seit 1854. Heute haben die Print- und Digitalausgaben des British Journal of Photography weltweit über 1 Mio. Leser. Es wird von professionellen Fotografen wie von Fotografie-Liebhabern und –Sammlern gleichermaßen geschätzt. Das British Journal of Photography ist für seine Leser die wichtigste Quelle der Inspiration und des Einblicks in die innovative zeitgenössische Fotografie.

www.bjp-online.com

PROFIFOTO

PROFIFOTO ist Deutschlands führendes Medium für professionelle Fotografen und alle, die es werden wollen. Monat für Monat bringt PROFIFOTO auf weit über 100 Seiten alles über aktuelle Fototechnik und professionelle Fotografie. Die Präsentation hochwertiger fotografischer Arbeiten in Form großzügiger Portfolios ist ebenso fester redaktioneller Bestandteil von PROFIFOTO wie die Auseinandersetzung mit kreativen, berufsständischen, kulturellen und technischen Aspekten des Mediums.
PROFIFOTO ist Mit-Initiator des adf, Arbeitskreis Digitale Fotografie e.V. sowie Mitglied der Technical Image Press Association, TIPA, die einmal jährlich die weltbesten Foto- und Imagingprodukte mit dem begehrten TIPA-Award auszeichnet.

www.profifoto.de

DGPh

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photographie (DGPh) versteht sich als ideelle Organisation, die sich vorrangig für die kulturellen Belange der Photographie und verwandter Bildmedien einsetzt. Ihre ca. 1000 Mitglieder sind verdiente Persönlichkeiten der deutschen und internationalen Photoszene. Diese vereint das Ziel, das allgemeine Ansehen der Photographie in der Öffentlichkeit zu fördern. Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photographie versteht sich nicht zuletzt als repräsentatives Organ für die Darstellung und Vermittlung wegweisender photographischer Leistungen in der Öffentlichkeit. In diesem Sinne hat die DGPh auch zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen gestiftet, die an Persönlichkeiten und Institutionen der Photographie vergeben werden, die sich in besonderer Weise durch bildnerische, wissenschaftliche, publizistische oder gesellschaftlich wirksam gewordene Werke profiliert haben.

www.dgph.de

BFF

Der BFF als Berufsverband Freie Fotografen ist seit 45 Jahren das unbestrittene Markenzeichen in Deutschland für professionelle Fotografie auf höchstem Niveau und zählt zu den einflussreichsten Fotografenverbänden Europas. 1969 als Berufsverband gegründet, zählt der BFF heute mit seinen über 500 ausschließlich freiberuflich tätigen Fotografen / Filmgestaltern und Hochschullehrern zu den renommiertesten Fotografenverbänden in Europa. Laut Satzung „ ... hat der Verein die Aufgabe, die gemeinsamen beruflichen Interessen der freiberuflichen Fotografen und Filmgestalter wahrzunehmen und zu vertreten. Zweck des Vereins ist insbesondere die Wahrung und Förderung der Arbeits- und Wirtschaftsbedingungen der Mitglieder". Dass die Verantwortlichen im BFF diese Aufgabe in den vergangenen 45 Jahren nicht nur mit Vehemenz, sondern auch mit großem Erfolg in die Praxis umgesetzt haben, ist neben der fotografisch-künstlerischen Potenz einer der wichtigsten Faktoren, der dem BFF seine Ausnahmestellung unter den fotografischen Berufsverbänden nicht nur in Deutschland sichert.

www.bff.de

Stadt Osnabrück

Die Verleihung des Felix Schoeller Photo Award findet im Museumsquartier der Stadt Osnabrück statt. Dort werden auch die nominierten und ausgezeichneten Arbeiten gezeigt. Ein außergewöhnlicher Ort für ein außergewöhnliches Ereignis!

Die Museumsanlage selbst mit dem von Daniel Libeskind geschaffenem Felix-Nussbaum-Haus und dem im Kontrast dazu stehenden, neo-klassizistischen Museumsgebäude von 1890 verkörpert architektonisch das Spannungsfeld zwischen ‚Avantgarde und Tradition‘. Die Ausstellung der beim Felix Schoeller Photo Award prämierten Arbeiten im historischen Oberlichtsaal des Museums greift genau dieses Spannungsfeld auf: Die Arbeiten der fotografischen Avantgarde werden inszeniert in Museumsräumen mit 125-jähriger Tradition.

www.osnabrueck.de