Best Work by an Emerging Photographer | Winner

Hosam Katan

Hannover / Germany www.hosamkatan.com

Living with War

Konzept

The series „Living with War“ portraits conflicting and contrasting emotions and experiences of what life has meant to people in their hometown of Eastern Aleppo since the start of the civil war. The photos have been taken between 2014 and the end of 2015 by a photojournalist from Eastern Aleppo. Drawing from the photographer’s own experience of living in that area the series creates a nuanced view of how people have balanced the realities of war with their own personal everyday lives and routines. The pictures, thereby, give recognition to the resilience and inventiveness of people in Eastern Aleppo in the face of perilous circumstances. Moreover, the series not only intends to generate empathy but to provoke a reflection on justice, responsibility and human dignity.

Interview


Vita

Hosam Katan, was born 1994 in Aleppo, Syria. He started photography with his smartphone when he was 17 years old when the Syrian revolution started.

He started working as a photojournalist for Aleppo Media Center from October 2012.

Between 2013 and 2015, he covered the conflict in Aleppo as a freelance photographer for Reuters as well as for the German magazine “Stern”.

He is currently studying photojournalism at the University of Applied Sciences and Arts in Hannover.

Awards he has received include:
the Ian Parry Special Award 2014
the Ian Parry Award 2015 category: highly commended)
the annual Andrei Stenin International Press Photo Contest 2015
the grand price at the IAFOR Documentary Photography Award 2015
the Nannen Preis for journalism 2016 (category: special award)
and the photography award at the University of Art and Design in Offenbach 2016

EXHIBITIONS
Nov/15 Soirée de soutien - Concert, Le tholonet / France.
Dec/15 Ian Parry Exhibition, London / England.
Feb/16 Exposition « Guerre en contraste », Aix / France.
Feb/16 Museum for modern Art Frankfurt / Germany.
Mar/16 Vernissage expo “Les enfants d’Alep”, Mareille / France.
Apr/16 Humans of Syria: Stories of daily life and survival, California / USA

Jury Statement

The poignant images by young Syrian photographer Hosam Katan let us take a look at the horrors of war through an unfamiliar window and reveal the residents of a war-torn city who, for some reason or other, remain in their homes rather than fleeing from the conflict.
The photographer is not an impartial observer; you notice that he’s at the heart of the action. He’s one of them. With the eyes of an insider, Hosam Katan reveals entirely new perspectives. The chaos is held together in formal terms by a stringency and clarity of composition that ingeniously unites elements of street photography and classical photojournalism. The photographer approaches the subjects with respect and shows their dignity and even moments of humour as they live their lives as both victims and heroes in the ruins of their city. Particularly touching are the scenes that show how life goes on – and must go on – in the city. Situations in which the residents of Aleppo can forget the war for a few precious moments and can simply get on with living their lives.

Jury impressions – Hosam Katan, Emerging Photographer Award Winner 2017

Beste Nachwuchsarbeit | Preisträger

Hosam Katan

Hannover / Deutschland www.hosamkatan.com

Living with War

Konzept

Die Serie „Living with War“ (Leben mit dem Krieg) zeigt gegensätzliche, ja widerstreitende Emotionen und Erfahrungen aus dem Alltagsleben der Bewohner von Ost-Aleppo seit dem Beginn des Bürgerkrieges. Die Fotos eines Fotojournalisten aus Ost-Aleppo entstanden zwischen 2014 und Ende 2015. Da der Künstler aus seiner eigenen lokalen Lebenserfahrung schöpfen kann, entwickelt er eine sehr nuancierte Sicht auf die Strategien der Menschen, der Kriegsrealität in ihrem Privatleben und ihren Gewohnheiten Rechnung zu tragen. Die Bilder zeigen viel Respekt für die Widerstandskraft und den Erfindungsreichtum der Bewohner Ost-Aleppos unter den gefährlichen Umständen. Die Fotoserie soll nicht nur Empathie wecken, sondern der Fotograf provoziert bewusst die Auseinandersetzung mit Themen wie Gerechtigkeit, Verantwortung und Menschenwürde.

Interview


Vita

Hosam Katan wurde 1994 in Aleppo, Syrien, geboren. Er begann beim Ausbruch der syrischen Revolution mit 17 Jahren mit seinem Smartphone zu fotografieren.

Seit Oktober 2012 arbeitet er als Fotojournalist für das Aleppo Media Center.

Zwischen 2013 und 2015 begleitete er den Konflikt in Aleppo als freiberuflicher Fotograf für Reuters und das deutsche Magazin „Stern“.

Heute studiert Katan Fotojournalismus an der Fachhochschule Hannover.

Katan hat unter anderem folgende Auszeichnungen erhalten:
den Ian Parry Special Award 2014
den Ian Parry Award 2015 in der Kategorie: sehe empfehlenswert)
den jährlichen Andrei Stenin International Press Photo Contest 2015
den großen Preis im Rahmen des IAFOR Documentary Photography Award 2015
den Nannen Preis für Journalismus 2016 (Kategorie: Sonderpreis)
und den Fotopreis der Hochschule für Kunst und Design in Offenbach 2016

AUSSTELLUNGEN
Nov. 2015 Soirée de soutien - Concert, Le tholonet / Frankreich.
Dez. 2015 Ian Parry Exhibition, London / England.
Feb. 2016 Exposition « Guerre en contraste », Aix/Frankreich.
Feb. 2016 Museum für moderne Kunst, Frankfurt/Deutschland.
März 2ß16 Vernissage expo “Les enfants d’Alep”, Mareille/Frankreich.
Apr. 2016 Humans of Syria: Stories of daily life and survival, Kalifornien/USA

Jury Statement

Die eindringlichen Aufnahmen des jungen syrischen Fotojournalisten Hosam Katan öffnen einen ungewohnten Blick auf die entsetzlichen Folgen des Krieges für diejenigen, die aus welchem Grund auch immer nicht fliehen, sondern zuhause bleiben.
Der Fotograf ist kein neutraler Beobachter. Man merkt, dass er mittendrin im Geschehen ist. Einer von ihnen. So offenbart der Insiderblick Hosam Katans gänzlich neue Perspektiven. Das Chaos wird formal zusammengehalten durch strenge und klare Bildkompositionen, die die Elemente der street photography und des klassischen Bildjournalismus genial vereinen. Die Menschen werden mit Würde, Respekt und sogar mit Humor in den Ruinen ihrer Stadt dargestellt, sie sind zugleich Opfer und Helden. Besonders ergreifend sind die Szenen, in denen das Leben weitergeht – weitergehen muss. Situationen, in denen die Einwohner Aleppos – wenn auch nur für einen kurzen Augenblick – den Krieg hinter sich lassen und einfach leben.